Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan was founded in 1938 by Kulapati Dr. K.M. Munshi with the blessings of Mahatma Gandhi and the active support of several eminent leaders like Sardar Patel, Dr. Rajendra Prasad, Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru, Shri C. Rajagopalachari, Dr. S. Radhakrishnan and many other scholars and eminent professionals.

It is one of India's foremost & leading educational organisation and has been recognized as Institution of National Eminence by Government of India. Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan runs close to 400 institutes across 100+ cities in India and abroad with as many as 220,000 students on the rolls, an indication of the growth and widespread support and goodwill it has enjoyed over its 75 years of public service.

S P Jain Institute of Management and Research (SPJIMR), a premier business school and many other leading management institutes like Usha & Lakshmi Mittal Institute of Management (New Delhi) Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan Institute of Management Science (Kolkata) Bhavan’s Priyambada Birla Institute of Management (Mysore) are part of Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan.

Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan Recognitions by Government of India
  • Educational Institution of National Eminence
  • International Gandhi Peace Prize
  • Rajiv Gandhi Award for National Integration
The main purpose of the Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan is to provide holistic education serving as a modern bridge to span the past, the present and the future, built on the strong foundation of the fundamental values of life.